1.) Leaving

When a pupil or a class leaves your school, they ought to be archived. This means that the school is no longer paying for their licence(s). To archive students' accounts, please follow these steps:

1.1 To archive individual students from an existing class:

  1. Log in to the Teacher Dashboard

  2. Go to Manage > Students

  3. Tick the names of students who are leaving the school

  4. Scroll to the top of the student list and select Archive from the Actions menu

  5. Press the Apply button

1.2 To delete a whole class of school leavers:

  1. Log in to the Teacher Dashboard

  2. Go to Manage > Classes & groups

  3. Tick the name of class who are leaving the school

  4. Scroll to the top of the class list and select Delete (this will archive all student accounts within the class)


2.) Moving

When children move classes or year groups, you have three options.

2.1. If the children are staying in a class with the same students but are just moving up a year

  • Log in to the Teacher Dashboard and go to Manage, then Classes & groups

  • Make sure you’ve deleted the classes leaving (following step 1.2 above)

  • Click directly on the class which will open an edit box and change the Name and Year details here to the new year group

  • Create any new classes as needed following the steps in this link.

2.2 If the children are mixing classes then pupils can edit the class themselves

  • Log in to the Teacher Dashboard and go to Manage, then Classes & groups

  • Click on the name of the class and an Edit class box will appear. You will see the class code here. You can then share this code with your class

  • Ask each student to visit Doodle and when they go to login select Class code from school? Press here

  • They then need to select My child already has an account and then enter the class code you provided

2.3 If the children are mixing classes then teachers can edit the child's class. Please note: It is important that the leavers are archived first so that the classes are left empty for students to be moved in to or that new classes are created

  • Log in to the Teacher Dashboard and go to Manage, then Students

  • Empty the classes of any leavers following step 1.1 above or create new classes under Manage > Classes and groups

  • Starting with the oldest class (e.g. year 5) select the names of the pupils you are moving by checking the box next to their name and move them into the empty class

  • Move down class by class, always moving students into empty classes

  • From Actions, select Move Class followed by Apply

  • Choose the class that you would like them to be in and select Move


Looking to create new classes and/or new student accounts? Click here for help


Did this answer your question?