Skip to main content
How to add existing students to classes

To add or remove existing student Doodle accounts to different classes, follow the steps below!

Lydia Carnegie avatar
Written by Lydia Carnegie
Updated over a week ago

As well as creating the main classes, Teachers should create classes for any groups of students within the school (e.g. intervention groups). Once these have been created you can then link students to those classes. Students can be linked to as many classes as you like making it even easier to assign work and monitor progress within the various groups in your school.

To add existing student Doodle accounts to a class, simply head to the Teacher Dashboard and follow these steps:

  1. Hover over Manage and select Classes

  2. Find the class you wish to add them to. To make this easier for you, you can search by year group by clicking on the drop down arrow, or search the class by typing the name into the search box

  3. Once you have located the class, click on the pencil icon on the far right hand side under 'Edit'

  4. This will then bring up an 'Edit class' box. From here, search the student's name in the search box and once you've found them click on their name

  5. Once you press 'Save changes', the student(s) will be added to that class

Don't forget:

  • Students need to be linked to at least one class. If they have left the school (or you have a duplicate account for a student) they need to be archived. To archive a student, please follow these steps.

  • Students can be linked to as many classes as you wish (for example, they may be linked to their main class and then intervention classes as well)

  • There is no maximum number of students who can be linked to a class

  • You can link your teacher account to specific classes to focus the information you are seeing. To do this please follow these steps.

For steps on how to add new students to a class, click here.


To remove a student account from a class

All students linked to a class will be listed. To delete (unlink) student accounts from a class, follow steps 1-4 above. Then click on the 'X' button next to the names of the students you wish to remove from that class.

Be sure to press 'save changes'.

Did this answer your question?